One of my very favorite books as a child was One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish, written by the treasured author Dr. Seuss.  Reading his books as a child was such an extraordinary thing for me.  The pictures vividly joined together with the playful words, and imprinted on my mind a new, curious world to me.  Colorful, strange, creative characters spoke to my imagination, and always put a smile on my face.  Aww c’mon now…..  I know it isn’t just me that has to smile when presented with a fellow like a Fiffer-Feffer-Feff?!  (And forever wishing that Sam would please for goodness sake just eat the green eggs and ham!!!)

That was a couple of decades ago… and today I had the pleasure of walking into a room, only to see my four-year-old Wesley engrossed in Hop on Pop.  His little eyes sparkled as he looked at the silly characters,  and then together we read the silly tale that ignited our creativity, and gave us loads of giggles.

On May 2nd, 1904, Dr. Seuss was born Theodore Seuss Geisel in Springfield, Massachusetts to Theodor and Henrietta, two German immigrants.  Ted had a wonderful childhood, and noted that his mother was his inspiration as she chanted rhymes to him as he fell asleep.

Besides his many children’s books, his works have been the idea for eleven children’s television specials, a Broadway musical and a feature-length motion picture. Other major motion pictures are on the way.  His honors also include two Academy awards, two Emmy awards, a Peabody award and the Pulitzer Prize.

Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!  Thank-you for years of so many smiles for so many faces.

One response »

  1. Jody Day says:

    It was fun to read this since I’m gearing up for my Dr. Suess story time next week. Your words make me feel like a kid again.

Leave a Reply

