“We’ll be Friends Forever, won’t we, Pooh?’ asked Piglet. 
Even longer,’ Pooh answered.”    ~A.A. Milne

Lately, I have been thinking a lot about friendship.  My mom has this precious friend.  She is such an encourager, bubbly, warm, full of life… yet also always makes these little profound statements out of nowhere that send you into a whirlwind of creative thoughts, while simultaneously stilling your mind and bringing focus back to where it belongs.

Do you have those friends?  They are your every day people… moms, grandpas, hairstylist, teachers, children, doctors, and students.  They walk with you through this life, and make it a wee bit more bearable. When the day feels a BIT gloomy, just a reminder of them can make you smile. That text comes at just the right moment with a winkey-smiley and a warm greeting for your day (right after you spilled your latte on your clean white pants, and you were already rushing out late for your meeting…hmmmm….sounds like I know this from experience, huh?)  A game night full of laughter reminds you that sometimes when things are too serious, we just need fun and fellowship to ease the moment. Then there is also a quiet cup of tea or coffee sharing your deepest thoughts, frustrations, and then hope.  What amazing gift — the needed people in our lives!  My mom beams a little brighter after she has spent time with her buddy.  She kinda shines actually, and it shows me what strength is passed on by that encouragement.

So then I ask myself the question, am I a good friend?  Am I the best friend I can be to those around me?  Are my words always full of life and encouragement?  No. Not always actually.   Yes, I am still on a journey learning how to be the most excellent friend I can be.  Sometimes I am grumpy, non-responsive, or negative.  Other days I try to please my friends more than God, doing ALL of us a big disservice.  Yet, still, even in my weakness, the treasure  remains in those friends who keep lifting me up when days are tough, and then laughing with me when the sun is shining finally. They remind me of who I am, and fill my life with kindnesses that urge my heart on, making this pretty-tough-and-not-always-fun road, easier because someone is walking next to me.

I thank God tonight for my friends.  So grateful for one of the many ways He loves me, and may I never fail to see how beautifully and clearly He loves me through the gift of companionship.

Ecclesiastes 4:9-10:  “Two are better than one,  because they have a good return for their labor: If either of them falls down,  one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up.”


3 responses »

  1. Jody Day says:

    This is beautiful, Joanie, thanks so much for reminding me to be a good friend in such a precious way. I was just looking at Phil. 2 (3 Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, 4 not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others). I can get so busy at my job sometimes and it seems that on those very busiest days, people come in and want to tell me their life story. I am trying to remember that people are more important and to give them my full attention; be a good friend. Thanks, Joanie!

  2. Mic B says:

    Hey Joani,

    I had no idea you had a blog! This is an excellent post, reminding us all of just how necessary it is to have godly friends and to be godly friends. This post reminds me of a song I grew up on. It’s called “More than You’ll Ever Know” by a group called Watermark. Check it out! God bless you!

    • Thanks Mic! Just began blogging a couple weeks ago… do you have a blog? I listened to the song, and not only is it quite beautiful, but very encouraging. I had known of the group Watermark, but not yet heard one of their songs until this one. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

