We hear so many “I love you’s”…. we say I love you so often. But, what are we really saying? What do we mean? What is love? So… I compiled a list for myself:

1.) Love is patient and kind.
2.) Love does not envy or boast.
3.) Love is not arrogant or rude. (Ha. I am never rude… it’s usually the other person.)
4.) Love does not insist on its own way.
5.) Love is not irritable or resentful. (Wait a second… not EVER?)
6.) Love does not rejoice at wrong, but rejoices with the truth.
7.) Love bears all things.
8.) Love believes all things.
9.) Love hopes all things.
10.) Love endures all things.
(I Cor. 13:4-7 God’s Word. Parenthesis – my words… 🙂 )

Love is not always easy, and that is what makes love so valuable. It’s not flippant, or just a whim. Love doesn’t come and go – It’s there to stay.

And then there’s the time when it seems impossible to love. This person doesn’t deserve my love! I tried to show true, Christian, wonderful love, and they rejected me! So, I guess I am off the hook now, eh? No need to love them, I tried…

But yet. There is a love that continues to love me. A love that gently restores and draws my heart daily. This love has not, and will not let go of me. He believes in me when I am weak knowing that He will continue to make me strong. Hope has been placed in my heart, and has shown to me that this present life is not all there is, one day I will live in the presence of the King. Christ endured to the Cross, bearing my sins, my shame and my daily grime that I demonstrate, dying as a substitute for the punishment I deserved. God in His great love and compassion, made a way so that I can live…and love.

Re-define love today in your heart. And then demonstrate it.

John 4:7-11
“Beloved, let us love one another; for love is of God, and he who loves is born of God and knows God. He who does not love does not know God; for God is love. In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the expiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. No man has ever seen God; if we love one another, God abides in us and his love is perfected in us.”

Leave a Reply

