I’ve never been a good dancer. Really that plain. Really that simple. I so very often have heard people say to me, “Awww, C’mon Joani, I know you can dance, ‘cos you have rhythm, being musical and all.” Nope. Nada. No dancing wonders for me.

Only dreams of such….

Yep. You’ve got it. When I grow up I would love to dance amazingly. A secret dream is to be the most brilliant ballroom dancer ever. Maybe because I grew up watching two of the most amazing people to ever glide across the floor, Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers. I love watching the two move as one. It mesmerized me. The lifts, twirls, spins, dips, and fun they had. Grace. Beauty. Together.

Not me. Clumsy, non-gliding me. ☺

I know that at this point you are sitting on the edge of your seat wondering why…. (If you please, just humor me.) The answer is, and to be perfectly honest: I don’t follow very well. My dancing-trust-issues have much to be desired, and that leaves me quite awkward on the dance floor. I trip, I stumble, I feel clumsy, and not-so-beautiful-but-instead-a-goober. Following the lead of my partner, and completely relaxing in the arms as they sweep me across the floor is something I struggle with.

This morning I was thinking about this (over a great cup of coffee), and realized I tend to be this way in life too. Some days instead of following the lead of the One who guides me, I balk. The dance of life is awkward for me many days.

So, I visited the wikipedia, ☺ and I looked at the definition for leading and following in ballroom dance. “The Lead is responsible for choosing appropriate steps to suit the music, and leading the Follow by hand pressure and signals to complete the chosen steps smoothly and safely. If the dance is a set routine, the Lead is still responsible for initiating each move, which ensures smooth coordination between the two dancers.”

So, actually, the “follow” position should be the easy one. He chooses the moves. He sets the step into action. He ensures the smooth coordination for the two dancers.

If only I completely always trusted the hands that held me. If only I followed the lead, even when I didn’t understand. Instead of balking and not trusting myself, as well as He that leads me, if I would only trust Him – and then glide as I fall into complete step with His lead.

More than likely, you will not see the day that I am on television famous for my amazing gliding techniques spinning and twirling with a big smile on my face… What I do hope for is that each day I learn to trust more and more, as I follow with complete ease the lead of the One who I will dance with forever.

2 responses »

  1. Kristie says:

    You may not be able to dance, but I’ve seen you rock and sway with the best of ’em in the choir! Seriously, your post reminds me of a hymn I’ve been singing lately:

    All the way my Savior leads me,
    What have I to ask beside?
    Can I doubt His tender mercy,
    Who through life has been my Guide?
    Heav’nly peace, divinest comfort,
    Here by faith in Him to dwell!
    For I know, whate’er befall me,
    Jesus doeth all things well;
    For I know, whate’er befall me,
    Jesus doeth all things well.

    All the way my Savior leads me,
    Cheers each winding path I tread,
    Gives me grace for every trial,
    Feeds me with the living Bread.
    Though my weary steps may falter
    And my soul athirst may be,
    Gushing from the Rock before me,
    Lo! A spring of joy I see;
    Gushing from the Rock before me,
    Lo! A spring of joy I see.

    All the way my Savior leads me,
    Oh, the fullness of His love!
    Perfect rest to me is promised
    In my Father’s house above.
    When my spirit, clothed immortal,
    Wings its flight to realms of day
    This my song through endless ages:
    Jesus led me all the way;
    This my song through endless ages:
    Jesus led me all the way.

  2. Raynette Mott says:

    I remember a story my husband told about a young boy who happened upon a stranger in a mountainous region. It seems the stranger had found an eagle’s nest containing several eggs. The nest was over the edge of the mountain and accessible only by being lowered by rope. An offer was made…..if the boy would consent to go over the edge and secure the eggs, a large sum of money would be paid him. The boy took only a few moments to consider, then agreed to the arrangement. He had but one condition….he must be allowed to go and bring his father back….his father must hold the rope. I think dancing is like that….and life as well….you have to trust the one holding the rope. “…..Faith casts my anchor upwards where I trust in thee and engage thee to be my Lord.” (The Valley of Vision, A Collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions)

Leave a Reply

