How small and insignificant my little hand seems.

I glance at it, and then look fully toward the mountain of shame looming over me.

The task is for my strength to push the mountain out of the way.  If I can not…. I will  not know what it means to live.  I will never be free.

So, I struggle and toil.  My hand cramps, my back aches, my body sweats.  My emotions swallow me at having to confront this daunting task.

Finally, despair.  I hang my head.  The mountain is my fault.  It’s my shame – my weaknesses, failures, and sin – my guilt.  Yet, my little hands cannot undo the mess that they have made.

Tears fall.  Frustation.  Hopelessness.  Anger.  Sadness.  Anxiety.  Fear.  Hopelessness.  A cage.

Yet.

He calls my name.  His love melts the mountain to complete dissolvement.  He doesn’t just move the mountain…. the mountain is no longer there.  I am His beloved He says.  His chosen.  His treasure.  I climb into His arms, and turn my back on the painful shame.  He rescues me.  He makes me new.

Now, life is mine forever.  

“For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves,  in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.”  Colossians 1:13-14

“Therefore repent  and turn back, that your sins may be wiped out  so that seasons of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord,  and He may send Jesus, who has been appointed  Messiah for you.”  Acts 3:19-20

One response »

Leave a Reply

