So, did you wonder where the day nine post was yesterday?  I am sure that you envisioned me either:

A.  Forgetting all about the fact that I even had a blog, and that I had a monthly challenge… cos I’m Joani, and I sometimes forget things.

B.  Running all over the county of Jasper to baseball practices, track meets, birthday parties and ball games.  (Which… isn’t a far stretch of the imagination…)

C.  Drinking too much coffee, and becoming too jittery to even type.

And, if you did think  some of these reasons…. you might be right on some days.  Maybe even most days…. But, yesterday, I just had a break.  To be honest with you, I had a long day, my heart was a bit heavy and I decided to practice the freedom that we all have…  Rest.  I soaked in my Colossians, and the beautiful Psalm 111, and rested.  I even opened my computer to study, begin work on a paper due, the blog, and all my other online thingies that are normal… and then I closed my laptop.  🙂  And, rested.  God reminded me that sometimes we do things out of tradition, or ritual and we fail to just be with Him.  But, that’s a whole other discussion… and maybe a blog for another day.

Colossians is really beginning to soak into my heart.  This morning, when I awoke, my heart was still heavy with some of the cares of this world.  Thinking about the steps of my own life, and then the needs of those around me… the difficulties that many lives are going through, the burdens that we carry, and then the frustrations of our own failures.  I think of John Bunyan, and his  amazing book entitled, “Pilgrims Progress,” as he likened this  journey to a hill.  Some days, the steps up this hill feel mighty heavy and tiresome… Yet, there is such beauty in God’s hope-filled words for us!  His gentle words that remind us why we keep walking!  His words give us a reason to keep our eyes fixed on that hope… some days we may walk, some days we may run, and then some days we might crawl — but His light tells us to keep coming.  So, as I awoke this morning, the words ringing in my ear were these simple ones from Colossians:  “His beloved Son….in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.”  (chpt.1, v.14)

Redemption.  What a word.  Purchased!  Full, complete payment.  God’s love was demonstrated through the incredible gift of His Son, Jesus — through His death on a Cross.  He was perfect, complete, pure, and obedient to His Father’s will for our payment!  It is done!  It is finished!  He has won! He triumphed over ALL this junk of the world.

A few years ago, I sat quietly with my beautiful friend Kristie, and we shared heart matters on her staircase during a “hurricane” party.  (Funny place to quietly share… with a house full of kids and a hurricane lurking about!  🙂 ) She said something that night that I will never forget…. she looked me in the eyes, and said, “Our God is the Redeemer of ALL in our lives.  It’s what He does. He is a redeeming God.”

He’s got it my friend.  All our worries, failures, junk, and all the nitty-gritty details of our lives.  Trust Him.  Redemption is what He does.  He purchased us, and He makes us new.  NEW.  His mercy, and faithfulness is NEW every day! Do you want NEW…?  I certainly do!  Have you surrendered your life to Him?  Are you the recipient of His amazing, redeeming love?  Know Him today – He has already paid  the price for our sludge in life.  Look to Him. The light of the world loves you deeply… beyond what we can ever imagine or conceive.  He is a redeeming God.

“This hill though high I covent ascend;
The difficulty will not me offend;
For I perceive the way of life lies here.
Come, pluck up, heart; let’s neither faint nor fear. ”
John Bunyan, The Pilgrim’s Progress

One response »

  1. efchristi says:

    Amen! God is good all the time, all the time God is good.
    You have a blessed day!
    Walk daily with God at your side.

    Ed.

Leave a Reply

