“….and above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony. And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”  Col. 3:14-17

These words ring in my ears today…. they actually have all month.  “above all these put on love.”  Love sounds like a cozy word.  It’s a word that means much fun, warm, and ooohhhahhhh feelings when we hear it.  But what is love really?  Truly, love isn’t those things — even though it might include those things.  Love is a journey, that has risks, pain, and surrendering selfish ways – always.  Love doesn’t go away when things get tough, it hopes and believes for the best rather than assuming the worst, and it continues to last, exist, and hold on no-matter-what.  God is love.  He chases us, and seeks our hearts.  His love is more intense and fierce than anything we can imagine, or experience.

And here we are, you and me, called to put this on daily. To wear this love like a banner on our life.  To bring Him glory, by Him shining in US this way.  To walk in this calling, which fuses us together in harmony.  How is this possible?  I don’t know about for you… but only by Christ ruling my heart, an attitude of gratitude, singing the song He placed in my heart, the encouragement of my fellow travelers, and His words sinking into my heart deeper each day — these are the only ways it is made possible in my life.

I’ve said it before, and I am oh-so-thankful today, that He is making beauty out of my messes.  Grateful that I can rely on Him, rest in His love and peace that compels me to love others too…. and maybe grow up to look like my Father.  🙂

Leave a Reply

