There is only One who can perform the miracle of setting a heart in eternity.  I love having the privilege of seeing and hearing stories of Hope filling a life with His love, and calling out to a broken soul…. “Come Alive.”

Today I heard one such story, and asked for permission to share a beautiful song that came from a heart set free.  Please take the time to read these lyrics, and think about the amazing gift given for me and you.

Jesus Opened the Way

Without Your blood, freely given on the cross
Every face from every place was lost
The sin was owned by us,
Jesus Christ, You paid the cost.
The pain You took at Calvary,
Reminds me just how unworthy
I am of Your love.

Still You came and now You live in me.
My own blind eyes at last can see.
I was a slave to all my sin
You set me free

(Chorus)
I didn’t seek it
Still I found Your face
I didn’t deserve it
but still received Your grace

Before Your truth, I had only facts
Filled heart with wisdom
Still my soul could not relax
Now I trust only You
To fill me with what I lack
Make of me the man You want
At last, I’m not alone
when Satan’s schemes attack

I didn’t seek it
Still I found Your face
I didn’t deserve it
but still received Your grace

From youth, I felt out of place
and stood alone
Believed myself a product
of the world which I was thrown
When on a quest to find myself,
Then woke up
and I was grown
The garden in which I found myself
Was the wicked seeds that I had sown
With purpose or direction with the wind
my heart scattered to go where it was blown.

When You came, You calmed the storm
Took me in and kept me warm
You embraced as I came weary, lost and worn
And gave to new life
through only Your mercy
I was reborn.

I didn’t seek it
Still I found Your face
I didn’t deserve it
but still received Your grace

I live because of You
For that I give my praise,
with a filled spirit
and open arms raised.
This once weak and weary man
Now is proud and brave,
A man once lost in darkness,
Standing in a new day
And here I am only
Because Jesus opened the Way.

I didn’t seek it
Still I found Your face
I didn’t deserve it
but still received Your grace

by Dusty Lummus
born again on 04-13-12
baptized on 04-15-12 & raised to walk in newness of Life!

2 responses »

  1. Dusty Lummus?! How wonderful and the lyrics so beautifully expressed. Please give him a hug for me. He probably doesn’t remember me but hug him anyway:)

Leave a Reply

