Ok.  So once again, I am thinking about how this blog is written about my “favorite” things… and to be quite honest with you, balance is not always one of my very favorite things.  That’s cos balance sometimes costs me my own thoughts, my own wants, and my own desires.

Confused yet?  Lemme ‘splain me self.  (For some reason I wanted to say that like a pirate…)

As I read the Bible, and then even more so when I want to share the word with people who I know are hurting, confused, or in need.. I tend to read some passages, and pick out the bits I like.  Example: A very famous verse with T-shirts, posters, bumper stickers, and all sorts of trinkets printed to go along is this one…  “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”  Philippians 4:13.  Now, see the difference to that thought when I add in the verses above it that brings the context:  “Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.”  Philippians 4:11-12.  Do you see the balance..?  He wasn’t talking about a secret magical *pouf* that gives you superhuman powers… he was talking about trusting and obeying in all the ways that God requires of us, and only through his strength can we find contentment in the road he has us personally walk.

See, we tend to place God in a box that makes me Him look and take shape to how we think He should look…. instead of fully seeking to know who He is.  Isn’t that odd when you think of it… the Creator, the Sustainer of all, our Salvation… and we decide how He should look to others, and in our own mind!?

Here is my challenge… read it all.  Let it bring balance to the chaos in your life.  When you don’t understand, or it doesn’t seem to fit who you think God should be, ask Him to help you to see clearly.  Seek to truly KNOW Him.

He is God.  We are not.  The more we fully look to who He is, firmly established in His word; the more our trust can root itself deep in the enlightenment of the true God and not our human-made image.

Balance is one of my favorite, although-not-so-fun things.  Because truly, as I see who my beautiful Saviour is more clearly each day with the balance of His words…. my faith increases as I see him perform the greatest miracle of all in my life — He makes me new.

And I like new.

One response »

  1. This post is a blessing for someone like me, who either teeters to one side or the other, and is married to Mr. Balance. Such a wonderful post to meditate on. Thank you. I thought you were talking like Ricky Ricardo:)

Leave a Reply

