This ah-mazing book written by Victor Hugo originally, and then adapted into an AH-MAZING musical by Claude-Michel Schönberg has always been my favorite.  I have had to purchase the book three times, and am currently without one due to it falling completely apart.   I own the 1998 and 1935 movie versions… and the complete CD set from the London Cast.  It is one of those special things that seems to always tug on my heart when I pull it off the shelf.

Many reasons why I treasure this work:  For one, the score is BRILLIANT. It is one of those pieces that draws me into its serene melodies, and then blows me away with intensity in other moments. The story line is tender, and convicting — always leaving me in awe of the power in God’s love.  Truly, a tale of true love giving hope… and the beauty that forgiveness brings.

One of my bucket list dreams is one day to see this in London…. but until then I listen to the pieces during my daily life and they flow thru my heart, mind and soul all day. I concentrate on the lyrics and the urgency to see others as God sees them.  I am reminded that I don’t want to be known as Joani-of-her-flawed-yesterday, I want you to pretty please see me fresh and new – walking today in my ever-growing state of becoming like Christ. I still might (and prolly will) have some boo-boo’s in my day today…. but the hope is always that He creates us new, and makes beauty out of our messes as we surrender daily. So, then hopefully I am reminded to see you that way too, and all those in and out of our life.  Let’s hope and look for the best, my friends!  Let’s forgive freely, and completely. Let’s urge and encourage each other on in this walk of life, and quit discouraging one another with our critical hearts, thoughts, and ways.  Rejection is one of the main issues our human hearts fear… and dread.  Why then do we so freely do it to one another?  Let’s instead take the role of Jean Valjean who allowed love to shape his life solely to share that life-altering love with others – no matter what the cost.

One day maybe I will be seated in London, with a huge smile, watching this glorious story live… but until then I am thrilled with anticipation to see and hear the silver screen new version of this beautiful story on December 14, 2012!

Read the story to gain context soon, but right now listen to my favorite beautiful piece with your head back, eyes closed and praying for those who hurt around you today. (And yes, you are correct… that is Nick Jonas playing Marius.)

“The rain can’t hurt me now
This rain will wash away what’s past
And you will keep me safe
And you will keep me close
I’ll sleep in your embrace at last.

The rain that brings you here
Is Heaven-blessed!
The skies begin to clear
And I’m at rest
A breath away from where you are
I’ve come home from so far
So don’t you fret, M’sieur Marius

I don’t feel any pain
A little fall of rain
Can hardly hurt me now

That’s all I need to know
And you will keep me safe
And you will keep me close.”

3 responses »

  1. Peanut says:

    I have always loved Les Mis. Berkley also dreams of seeing it in person in London as I did many times in New York. I was sure I was going to perform as Eponine on Broadway one day, only I lacked one small element…talent! Ha ha. Those songs and the storyline captured me forever at the age of 12. I agree the London cast takes the cake! I only saw it in New York, but the London cast stole my heart on CD. The song Bring Him Home always sent me into a talespin of tears and heart wrenching emotion. I remember walking out of the theatre arm in arm with my dad and walking back to the otel in the cold and we both bawled our eyes out the entire way home. My favorite is Bring Him Home too. What a picture of our Father’s love…”If I die let me die, let him live. Bring Him home”. And let the tears flow…
    Thanks for this post. Love you girl.

  2. […] certain that after the rainy storms, everything grows, right? Just like the line from my favorite musical, “..rain will make the flowers grow…”  I guess it’s not as pretty to say, yet true, that rain also makes the weeds grow. […]

Leave a Reply

