Sorry for my disappearance off the blogosphere!  Guess if you follow my spasmodic ramblings, you are not surprised that you haven’t heard from me for a while… I’m a bit unpredictable.  🙂

Life has had some swirling storms for me especially the past couple of months.  In this season of my life, it has certainly felt like winter.  We all can relate to pain-filled, dark days that we walk through, desiring to see the flowers brightly bloom, and the warmth of the spring sun on our face — only to be faced with the cold reality that it is still winter.

Yet, now I know, more than ever, joy can be found in the winter.

I’m thankful that these winter seasons teach us what true joy really is.  These winter seasons actually help rule out where our hope and joy does not lie.  We walk it out with shaky legs, tired hand as we face these struggles day by day, and we see clearly what is true in our life.  Joy is found in promises that are immovable.  Joy is found in the reality that we are created by a God who is unchangeable.   Joy is found when friends remind you to hope, breathe, dance with them in the rain, or cry on their shoulder — wanting to share your burden to ease the winter months.    True joy isn’t found in my external surroundings, the flowers blooming, or the sun shining in my face.  True joy doesn’t melt away when the days are long and hard, and the tears sting our face.  True joy doesn’t have to fade, or flicker when relationships get messy, and complications make it unsure footing for what the next steps are to be made.  True joy actually can grow stronger when the waves get bigger, and the storms rage.  True joy actually can make your heart smile in the midst of laying in a puddle of tears, even as you feel  you are grasping to see light cos it’s so very dark.

The truth of the matter is, my joy is a choice.  My mind doesn’t need to stay fixed on the problems, but “Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth.” Col 3:2 (ESV) This doesn’t mean I have to shout from the mountaintops a song of happy refrain, when I have a hard time even lifting my head,  but it does mean that I can rest my heart in what is true.  I can know that although my feelings may overwhelm me, it does not change the truth that I am loved.  I am cared for.  And my Father has overcome ALL the storms of this world, He sees my every tear, and His love wins.  I cannot climb this mountain, but He already has.

“Bad news happens.  But joy is a choice.”  Dr. Gary Oliver

My friend, choose joy with me — bad news in this world is temporary, but joy is eternal.

PS:  A big hug to all my love-sharing peeps that read this.  I want you to know sometimes I may be quiet (it’s the introvert in me.  Sorry!), but your love has helped carry me, and I am so thankful for you.

The next few weeks I have some beautiful guest posts that you will enjoy!  Some peeps and their “favorite” things.  Keep an eye out & enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Beautifully expressed. Hugs:)

  2. Misty Woods Price says:

    Wonderful! For probably the first time in my life I am learning to find my true joy in the valleys of life! During time of pain and frustration and things beyond my control, I am learning to find rest and peace in Isaiah 41:10. And the more I feel of God’s peace and not the worlds…the more I want it! The more He convicts me to change, the more I eagerly strive to make those changes! I am so thankful that God gave me you as dear friend during one of the darkest times of my life. You and your family were always such a light in my life. Even then, when I thought God must have hated me for allowing me to have that kind of life, He loved me so much that made sure I had a shoulder to lean on so I wouldn’t feel quite so alone! Praise God!!

Leave a Reply

