In my journey through God’s word, I currently have the joy of studying the book of Hebrews.  Gotta be truthful, when I first began to read it at the beginning of March, I thought to myself that maybe I could just skip over it, remembering that each time I’ve studied Hebrews before it kinda feels like my heart is under construction… ripping out maybe some trashy, cheap cabinets I installed, or painting a new color on the walls that wasn’t quite what I expected.  But, I went ahead and dove in, and I’m so thankful for the worknew construction site that I’m feeling, because He is reminding me that He is here, He is present, and He isn’t finished with me yet.

This morning my text was Hebrews 6, and these particular verses resonated so strongly with my heart-work, So when God desired to show more convincingly to the heirs of the promise the unchangeable character of his purpose, he guaranteed it with an oath, so that by two unchangeable things, in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled for refuge might have strong encouragement to hold fast to the hope set before us. We have this as a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul, a hope that enters into the inner place behind the curtain, where Jesus has gone as a forerunner on our behalf, having become a high priest forever after the order of Melchizedek” (Hebrews 6:17-20). 

anchorTwo things can hold us firmly in place… like a steady weighted anchor for our soul: God’s promise and His pledge!  Two things that do not change.  Ever.  His love and work for you is not dependent on you — not your failures, or weakness.. not your successes or strengths. And, guess what?  He cannot lie! He does not lie. Isn’t that reassuring! (Psalm 110:4). This world is shaky, isn’t it?  Money will come and go, places that we live change, earthly relationships sometimes are grand..and then someday’s maybe disappoint, but my Saviour does not.  His work was done for us, completed on the cross.   Little phrases that have GREAT ALTERATIONS like “and then,” AND THEN, “And then Jesus cried out again with a loud voice and yielded up his spirit. And behold, the curtain of the temple was torn in two, from top to bottom. And the earth shook, and the rocks were split” (Matthew 27:50-51, ESV).  For you, my friend.  For me.  Now, because of Christ doing this work of propitiation Jesus made things okay to run behind the veil and have sweet fellowship with our Creator and Perfect Father.

I can’t speak for you, but for me I often get tangled up with my struggles, sickness, emotions, and responsibilities… and I forget to run… or I choose not to run.  I’ll just try to carry it all, and plod along.. each step feeling weighed down a little more.  I seem to be doing that alot lately. How amazing is it, that He, my Daddy wants me to lay aside all that is weighing me down and run straight to His arms… free and unfettered by heavy laws, and muddy sin.  Surrender maybe doesn’t come easy to us “big people.” but becoming a little, dependent child is the most freeing thing ever for this weary heart.  I can face the biggest giant when my Daddy goes before me.

Run, with eyes on Him.

Run — He’s waiting.

Run, oh the joy that is to come.

I woke up with verse 2 of these amazing hymn lyrics written by Edward Mote singing over and over in my soul:

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.

 When the darkness is thick,  that’s when His promise and oath to me are the anchor that keeps my little, bobbling ship stayed still, and quiet in the presence of His love.

I’m so thankful that my God is rebuilding this little place I live in.. the book of Hebrews is reminding me: “What on earth is He up to? The explanation is that He is building quite a different house from the one you thought of – throwing out a new wing here, putting on an extra floor there, running up towers, making courtyards. You thought you were being made into a decent little cottage: but He is building a palace. He intends to come and live in it Himself” (CS Lewis, Mere Christianity).

Leave a Reply

