I’m so excited!  Here is our next post in this series.. “To A Wild Rose.” Let me introduce you to my friend Melody Rodriguez… She’s a mom who knows how to laugh heartily and cuddle muchly with her sweet kiddos!  She loves her husband fervently and the radiance on her face reflects his love for her. She encourages me as a friend who loves with truth and compassion.  As a sonographer she gives the gift everyday in her workplace looking at our “inside” world.  Melody is a courageous woman who loves God with all her heart, all her soul, and all her mind.  Thank you Melody for sharing!  

I love the topic of this blog series: Wild Rose. It takes my mind to the small potted rose bush right outside of my garage. It’s often the first thing I look at every morning. It is certainly a miracle in itself that it’s still alive. I love watching the roses in their beginning stages of life, but my favorite is when one is in full bloom. The rose is tall, its proud, its stretched out reaching to the sun all too aware of its beauty. It doesn’t feel inferior, it’s not competing. Its simply basking in who the creator made it to be. In those moments I silently pray, “Lord make me like this rose. Make my friends, my coworkers, make women like this rose.” I can feel His presence and his answer,

“My child, I did.”

roses-wsunshine

Most women at some point have walked or are walking through the darkness of comparison, inferiority, and a broken self-worth. There is no sun there. There is no basking and reaching, only wilting and a lack of self-value. All too often we’ve allowed the opposite sex to discern our esteem. As though men belong on a pedestal nor as our equal but to tower over us. I suppose from that height they can see well enough to let us know if we’re too thin or too wide. I guess they can hear better at that level to let us know if we talk too much or too little. Surely, mans opinion must be the most accurate determining factor of a females worth right? I was blessed with a long lineage of good men. I was fathered by one, I’m married to one, and I’m raising two. I’ve also spent some time on the flip side of the coin. I’ve allowed my value, my worth, who I am to be changed, to be altered to better fit into a stereotype attractive to men. And I see so many women living that lie today. This isn’t “normal”. This isn’t “just the way it is”. Women must step out and be willing to take an active role to re-define what our society has dysfunctionally made to a supposed truth. We have this amazing ability to build one another up if we so choose. To have those conversations with one another about where our self-esteem is and how we value ourselves.

best-friend-day-flowers

Will you stand and watch your sister wilt in the shadows? Or will you, like I’ve done with my potted plant after it weathered a storm, pick that beautiful rose up, set her on solid ground and turn her to the sun. Will you point her in the direction of the one who holds our value in His hands? We’re all weathered, maybe a little tattered, we’ve walked through shadows. But we don’t live there, we don’t stay long. We stand again, we thrive again, we bask in the light again. Why? Because we are daughters of the most high King. And today is the perfect day to start treating one another that way.

Leave a Reply

